Government Structure

The City of St. Helens, incorporated in 1889, currently has a Council-Mayor form of government consisting of a Mayor, elected to a two-year term, and four Council members, elected to four-year terms. At each biennial general election, the Mayor and two Councilors are elected.  All positions are non-partisan and each Council member represents all residents.

The City Council is the head of our municipal government structure.

The City’s structure is as follows:

City Council

Administration Department

City Attorney

Community Development Department

Library Department

Municipal Court Judge

Police Department

  • Public Safety
  • Code Enforcement

Public Works Department

Boards & Commissions (serving in an advisory capacity)

All members of these boards and commissions are appointed by the City Council and serve at its pleasure.